Sculpture

INSTALLATIONS: bee my honey

My latest piece is inspired by honeycomb. I would love the opportunity to install it on a wall, but I don’t have anywhere that I could staple gun it into the wall. It’s made with over a thousand plastic cups, which were each hand-painted with honey hues. It measures 8 feet by 11 feet, with the deepest section (the part to the right) protruding 2 and a half feet. The blue line equals a foot.

Image

Did you know that bees “grow” the honeycomb from the uppermost part of the underlying structure, filling each cell with honey and plugging it with wax?

Image

I made a miniature model of the installation as I would have liked to install it, with paint dripping down the inside of the glass to show an overabundance of honey.

Image

Image

Each cup is colored by hand, because I wanted a painterly feel in the details. What are your thoughts?

Stay curious,

Image

One thought on “INSTALLATIONS: bee my honey

Leave a Reply

